Corey and the Corn Stalk

Ok, so the other week while I was eating lunch at Nemours (my real job), a couple of coworkers and I got on the subject of RemixYourHealth, specifically the March Madness Belly Buster bracket.  You cannot imagine how excited I was that RemixYourHealth has now become an actual thing that people can/are talking about and not just another one of Corey’s crazy ideas/Corey fell off his rocker projects.

Anyway, during this conversation I mentioned that I wanted to start a fruit and vegetable garden on the balcony of my apartment for cooking purposes but more so for fun and giggles.  During the discussion of this topic, the typical culprits of the do-it-yourself home garden came up: tomatoes, peppers, herbs, cucumbers, etc.  Considering how much I LOVE peppers and is still heart broken over their devastating loss to the mushroom in the Belly Buster March Madness, I figured, sure why not?  Farm suit-up!

At this point one of my coworkers mentioned a phenomenal idea – why not utilize this apartment balcony garden experiment as an educational resource on RemixYourHealth.  Considering a majority of our viewers are currently in college or have recently graduated college and live in apartments, this would be a great way to illustrate that yes, you too can grow your own fresh fruits and vegetables for healthy snacks and meals.

 

Of course I had to take this idea one step further and state that for this project I will not only try to grow the typical do-it-yourself home garden fruits and vegetables, but I also plan on having a couple of surprise fruits & veggies along the way! : )

So grab your pitchfork, your best set of overalls, and that green thumb of yours and join me this spring for the RemixYourHealth “Growing Healthy Meals” challenge.  Simply put, start a little (gigantic) garden at your apartment or house, keep us posted on how it’s going via photos, stories, movies, tips, suggestions, aches and pains, or even a song. Then, post them on the RemixYourHealth Facebook Community Page and you may be the lucky winner of a beautiful harvest and a gift card to Lowe’s or Home Depot.  More details to come…

In the spirit of the rap group UNK – Crop it out, Crop it out, Crop it out, Crop it out…

– Corey

 

  One thought on “Corey and the Corn Stalk

  1. Belinda
    March 27, 2011 at 9:33 pm

    you should grow a variety of herbs too!

    Like

    • March 30, 2011 at 9:44 pm

      I think it’s just going to be a mix bag of amazing!

      Like

  2. katerandolph
    April 8, 2011 at 12:49 am

    Corey…it is Kate..Rutecki. Remember me? I decided to check out your website after the multiple-ith facebook message! It is exciting! I think you should grow some sprouts, which don’t even require a garden, just a jar, because they are a tasty on sandwiches! I hope you are doing well and would love to hear what you’ve been up to in addition to remix. I was thinking about load-in recently when I was awake for 23 hours continuously and remembered how exhausting it was! I have been living in Utah for the past 3 years doing wilderness therapy with at-risk adolescents and I am bicycling to Canada this summer! I have a blog too that I made for my bike trip: http://mapleleaftour.wordpress.com. We are so tech. Let me know if you want any info/ideas about outdoor recreation or ways to get involved in the outdoors for your website!

    Like

Leave a Reply

