I Just Felt Like Running

“Now you wouldn’t believe me if I told you, but I could run like the wind blows.”

Not exactly.

See, I always wished I could be like Forrest Gump and just wake up one morning and decide to go on a run.  I wished I could also have stocks in “some fruit company” and not have to worry about a job, but that’s another story.

Like I said in my previous post, running, when I started on my weight loss journey, was to the end of the street and back.  I knew that I could burn more calories per minute by jogging or running than walking.  Everyone can do it, it’s free, and it’s great for your heart.

So you’ve got the motivation, but before you tighten up those laces and head out the door, here are some healthful tips to help you hit the ground–err…running.  

Get yourself some sweet kicks: Not just any old sneakers, go to the store, try on some RUNNING sneakers, do a lap around the shoe department, and really get a feel for your feet.  Healthy feet = stable body and joints.  Check out this post from Runner’sWorld.com on “Common Running Shoe Questions.”

My favorite pair of shoes...

Walk-Run: This is kind of a simple idea, but walk more than you run when you first start out.  You’ll build endurance until you can finally run for an extended period of time. This method has been popularized as the Galloway Method. Some people even walk-run full marathons and finish faster than others who simply run the whole thing.  You do the math.  Check out more about the Galloway Method here.

Jam Out: Some people prefer a zen moment when they’re out running, while others, like myself, need some beats to get me movin’. Fill it with music that, well, MOVES you.  I love pretty much all music, so my playlists have anything from Fleetwood Mac to Britney Spears to Skrillex and David Guetta.  Go to your iTunes library and make a playlist!

Instead of a big, clunky iPod/iPhone/etc, I also have a green iPod mini (thanks boyfriend!) that I clip to my shirt.  I hate being weighed down with stuff, so the lighter the better.  Different strokes for different folks, but I have seen people out for a 2 mile run that look like they’re going camping for a week.  True story.

A Plan: It wouldn’t be a complete post with a plan of some sort!  Some people, when they first start out, run for the sheer purpose of being active where others might need something to look forward to.  A friend of mine recently completed a Couch to 5K program and was so proud at what she could accomplish from week to week.  She needed that extra little something to check off on her calendar each day.  Check out the Runner\’s World and Hal Higdon sites for more info about getting into racing and some beginner’s running plans.

Happy Running!

Leave a Reply

