Help Me Run?

Raise your hand if you’ve ever created an epic play-list to run, jog, walk, workout, bike, hike, or do a power hour to (straight water sillies — go hydrated or go home).  Now raise your hand if you’ve listened to that play-list so many times that you can predict, even on shuffle, the next song.

I’m excited to announce that this Saturday I will be running my fourth 1/2 marathon in Annapolis, MD.  Over the last 3 months I have ran and ran and ran through scorching heat, pouring rain, snow, and even on the downwind of the Llama exhibit at the Brandywine Zoo (that smell still haunts my dreams).

What I am not excited about is hearing my once cherished and beloved play-list blare one more time through my ear buds as I attempt to tune out the rest of the world for around two hours of tranquility and determination.   You, the viewers, my RemixYourHealth fans — I want you to join me on my journey this weekend as I take on this challenge and this is how you can do it from the comfort of your own home:

Simply claim a mile or two of mine this weekend by providing me with 2-3 of your favorite songs (per mile claimed) and I will add them to my brand new play-list that will be published later this weekend on the blog (and possibly iTunes) for all of you to use.

All you need to do is comment below with your name, your mile(s) preference (1-13) and your 2-3 favorite songs (per mile).  Simple enough, right?

I look forward to creating the most eclectic and randomly awesome play-list that will hopefully help me crush my PR for the 1/2 marathon and this will be done knowing that I have your support and inspiration behind me.

So which mile(s) will you choose

– Corey

(Chief Remixer)

  One thought on “Help Me Run?

  1. Dan
    November 17, 2011 at 1:48 pm

    Mile 10. Total Immortal by AFI, Papercut by Linkin Park, and Pretty Handsome Awkward by The Used.

    Good luck, Corey!

    Like

  2. November 17, 2011 at 3:29 pm

    Mile 1: Good Feeling – Flo Rida, We Found Love – Rihanna, Where Them Girls At – David Guetta….GOOD LUCK!!

    Like

  3. November 17, 2011 at 8:14 pm

    Mile 7:
    “All the Above” – Maino ft. T-Pain
    “Drunken Lullabies” – Flogging Molly
    “Higher” – Taio Cruz ft. Travie McCoy
    “Club Can’t Handle Me” – Flo Rida
    “Turn Me On” – David Guetta ft. Nicki Minaj

    Not sure how long mile 7 will take you, but here are a few options. Good luck! 🙂

    Like

  4. Katie Eaton
    November 17, 2011 at 11:24 pm

    Cool idea! Here is my soundtrack for mile 5 (and selection from my workout playlist). Good luck!

    A Tribe Called Quest – Can I Kick It?
    White Rabbits – Percussion Gun
    Mat Kearney – Hey Mama

    Like

  5. Kelly Jones-Reph
    November 18, 2011 at 3:01 pm

    Mile 6 (you’re gonna laugh but this song gets me going!) – “Wake Me Up Before you Go Go” – WHAM!

    Mile 11 – “100 Miles & Runnin'” – NWA!

    Good luck Corey!

    Like

  6. Chris Conaway
    November 18, 2011 at 4:40 pm

    Mile 4 baby!

    I’m Too Sexy – Right Said Fred
    Baby Got Back – Sir Mix-A-Lot
    The Bad Touch – Bloodhound Gang

    I will admit I didn’t pick my favorite songs for working out. I was attempting to select ones to make you laugh and remember that yours truly selected them 😉 So since I didn’t follow your directions, reject my choices if you must haha.

    Like

  7. November 18, 2011 at 11:53 pm

    Half-marathons are definitely the best distance to run, and my favorite mile of the race is mile 9, so here are some songs for your Mile # 9! (disclaimer: this is a VERY random mix of music, but its good for running!)

    Here I Come- The Roots
    Eye of the Tiger- Survivor
    Wicked & Weird- Buck 65
    Another One Bites the Dust- Queen

    Enjoy your run 🙂

    Caroline

    Like

  8. Allison
    November 19, 2011 at 1:14 am

    I’m training for the Disney Marathon Relay so I’ve been jamming out lately to:
    Stevie Wonder- Signed, Sealed,Delivered
    Mark Ronson feat. Amy Winehouse- Valerie
    And the guy from Fall Out Boy- This City

    Not sure what miles are claimed. 🙂

    Like

    • joanne hennessy slawter
      November 25, 2011 at 1:54 pm

      I love signed, sealed, delivered! I have that on my ipod.

      Like

  9. November 19, 2011 at 1:51 am

    Ok, I just have to add some songs for that last 1.1 miles! Here we go…

    Can’t Stop- Red Hot Chili Peppers
    Come on Eileen- Dexy’s Midnight Runners
    All She Wrote- T.I. ft. Eminem

    And finally- Michael Jackson will carry you through the finish with “Don’t stop ‘Til you get Enough” 🙂

    Happy Running 🙂

    Like

  10. Kelly Jones-Reph
    November 19, 2011 at 1:52 am

    Mile 8- “The Beautiful People” Marilyn Manson

    Like

  11. November 19, 2011 at 4:15 pm

    Thank you to all who claimed a mile or two and posted songs for my race. It was definitely one hell of a hilly race and the complete randomness of my playlist associated with often bursts of laughter (Chris) helped me push through.

    You all rock!

    Like

  12. The Pencil Pirouette
    November 29, 2011 at 1:04 am

    You take the risk of breaking into a dance in the midlle of your run! But agree that the suggested songs ups the energy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

