Holiday Detox: Purple Cabbage & Green Onion Slaw

So Thanksgiving has come and gone, and if your holiday was anything like mine, then you’re probably wishing you had packed more macaroni and cheese and ham in your “to go” Tupperware while simultaneously regretting your decision to eat half your body weight in meat, mac n cheese, stuffing and 3 types of cake during the last four days. And you may or may not have eaten more than half the skin off the 20 pound turkey all by yourself. I plead the fifth.

If there’s one thing I’ve learned in my 25 or so years of Thanksgiving gluttony, it’s how to pace myself so that I don’t overeat to the point of hating myself  right up until the moment when my stomach stops hurting just long enough to get started on dessert. And then the cycle repeats itself.  Consequently, in that same span of time, I have also learned that when it comes to the holidays, Thanksgiving especially, that I am inevitably and unabashedly going to eat nothing but meat, cheese, bread and sugar, for at least 3 consecutive days. It’s just a fact of life.

Sound familiar?

However, that fact of life generally leaves me, and probably you too, feeling like crap run over twice after the third consecutive day of thanksgiving for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.  And that’s when a detox diet starts to sound a lot less like some form of  food-based of torture, and more like the answer to your metabolism’s prayers.  The following dish is variation of a recipe that I found on one of my favorite food blogs, which, due to a printing error and my passionate disdain for mayonnaise, caused me to improvise in multiple (read: vegan) ways. This purple cabbage slaw is full of flavor and packed with balance restoring nutrients and the age-old classic roughage! It’s as simple as it is tasty. Scout’s Honor*.

Red Cabbage & Green Onion Slaw (adapted from Bobby Flay)

Print this Recipe

Ingredients

3 Medium limes, juiced and zested

1/2 Cup extra virgin olive oil

1 Cup green onions, finely chopped

1 Head purple cabbage, finely shredded

1 Small red onion, halved and thinly sliced

1/4 Cup chopped cilantro leaves

Smoked Sea Salt

Fresh Crack Black Pepper

Directions

Combine cabbage, green onions, red onions and cilantro in a bowl. In a separate bowl, whisk lime juice, olive oil, balsamic vinegar until combined. Add smoked salt and pepper to taste. Pour over vegetables, toss until evenly coated. Serve as a salad and enjoy. And if you really want to get wild, serve it in a soft tortilla with some sliced avocado and a dash of smoked salt and pepper.

How do you like them tacos!

*I should mention that other than my obsession appreciation for their cookies [especially Samoas], I have zero affiliation with the Girl Scouts. I am, however affiliated with my own food blog, Eat, Read, Rant! where I dish about food and rant about life. It’s a hoot, so check me out!

  One thought on “Holiday Detox: Purple Cabbage & Green Onion Slaw

  1. December 1, 2011 at 8:39 pm

    That looks awesome, Nadette! I may have to try it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

