I Found You, Looking For Me

Greetings everyone!  I recently came back from vacation where I had the opportunity to run a couple of races, do some sight seeing, but most importantly finally get some rest and relaxation.  During one of my races I was rocking a prototype RemixYourHealth workout t-shirt when a gentlemen near me on the road started asking me some questions about my t-shirt and RemixYourHealth.  Now normally I try to refrain from becoming a chatterbox during races (mainly to conserve energy and my lungs) but how a proud father likes gloating about his baby, I love talking about Remix.

I will spare you the details from a conversation that lasted over 5.5 miles but I will tell you this, l was talking to no ordinary run of the mill runner.  Instead, I was talking to a man who was in the process of completing his 100th marathon that day.  This man was accomplishing something I will never experience and to be completely honest, can barely even comprehend.  This man was accomplishing something I imagine only a handful of people in our world have actually done.  And yet, there he was, chatting with me, becoming more and more intrigued by RemixYourHealth and its’ success to date.

During the 5.5 miles a lot of questions and advice went back and forth with mainly me asking the questions and him giving the advice.  Here is a bit of wisdom from our conversation that I would like to share with you all that will no doubt stay with me for the rest of my life and hopefully do the same with you.  To the best of my memory…

Corey:  We all have bad days, bad runs, bad races, how did you possibly make it through 99 other marathons where you must have hit walls, got injured, or frankly just wanted to stop running or give up.

Marathoner:  Did you ever want give-up on RemixYourHealth?

Corey:  there have definitely been days where I get frustrated, feel like it’s going nowhere, or struggle to see why people would even believe in our mission.

Marathoner:  What did you do to get through those days?

Corey:  Usually just bounce ideas off of my friends and go to them for support.

Marathoner:  There you go.  The funny thing about running is everyone thinks it’s an individual’s sport.  You have to run the race, you have to put in the miles, you have to search from within and find motivation when really all you want to do is give up.  I had that same train of thought for about the first 22 marathons I ran.  It was all about me.  Me, me, me.  Well guess what, that’s a load of crap.  Running is a team sport.  Life, my friend — is a team sport.  There is no chance in hell I would be here today, running in my 100th marathon if it wasn’t for all of the amazing friends, family, race volunteers, fellow runners, and spectators that have graced my life over the last 25 years of running.

To accomplish something great, you must think great things.  And once you think great things, you must surround yourself with great people because with out them, no matter what you accomplish, or what you set out to do, it will never be worthwhile if you’re doing it alone.  My friend, life is a team sport — don’t attempt to run it alone because you’ll never actually cross the finish line if you do.

If you want to complete a marathon, don’t focus on finishing but rather, focus on what’s going to get you to the starting line and who’s going to cheer you along the way.  Because once you’ve got the “Who” and the “What” figured out, “Why” you’ll finish the race becomes second nature.

I was blown away by this 9 minute per mile wisdom, my questions is, what does this mean to you? Please comment below, as I would love to hear how other people react to his thoughts.

Thank you to everyone who supported me along the way for this past series of races, who ran with me, who cheered me on, or who even said “you’re crazy” but I’m rooting for you.  And a major thanks to all that believe the best way to share health is through one writer, one blog post, one college at a time — RemixYourHealth.

– Corey

Follow Me on Twitter: @TheCoreyMatthew

  One thought on “I Found You, Looking For Me

  1. February 6, 2012 at 12:26 pm

    Spot on with this write-up, I actually assume this web site wants way more consideration. I’ll in all probability be once more to read much more, thanks for that info.

    Like

Leave a Reply

