The Average You

As I’ve mentioned before, when it comes to working in fitness centers, you can say I’ve been around the block a time or two.  I’ve worked as a health educator; personal trainer, health coach, building supervisor, floor staff and now, I oversee an entire health and wellness department for the YMCA of Delaware.  As you can imagine, I’ve overheard or been personally asked a lot of bewildering, hilarious, and sometimes incomprehensible questions. But out of the millions of questions that have surfaced, one of the most popular phrases is “Where am I compared to average or the norm?”  Every time I hear this, I cringe.

For those that call themselves my friends, my family, or the people I work with, there is one thing that is certain – I’ve never been accused of being normal.  Personally, I try to stay away from typing oneself as “average” or “the norm” as we are referred to as individuals and not as duplicates for a good reason.  I don’t want to be average and you shouldn’t be either.  Whether we are intrinsically or extrinsically motivated, introverted or extroverted, competitive or non-competitive one thing is certain; we must still understand what we are comparing/contrasting ourselves to.

So, I thought it would be fun to look at both males and females and compare the best data out there around health/fitness to see what is in fact considered average/normal in the USA.  Interesting enough, here is what I found:

                    Category                                                  Male                             Female

 

Life Expectancy

75.1 yrs. old 80.2 yrs. old

Height

5’9.4”

5’3.8”

Weight

194.7 lbs.

164.7 lbs.

Body Fat %

17-19%

22-25%

Body Mass Index

26.6

26.5

Average Waist Size

39.7 inches

37 inches

Calories Consumed Daily

2,700

1,900

Number of pushups (20-29 yrs. old)

35-44 in one minute

17-33 in one minute

Pull-ups

8

1

1.5 Mile Time

11:02

13:12

Sit-ups in 1 Minute

35-38

25-28

Vertical Height

22.1 inches

14.1 inches

Bench Press

106% of body weight

65% of body weight

Shoe Size

10.5

9

Penis Size (erect)

5.1-5.7 inches

n/a

Penis Circumference (erect)

3.5-3.9 inches

n/a

Breast Size

n/a

36C

Sexual Partners

7

4

Farts daily

14

14

Salary w/ Bachelor’s Degree

$52,265

$36,532

 

The question is how average are you?  Maybe you are more fit than you originally thought? Maybe you have some area for improvement? Regardless, you have to start somewhere and you don’t know where you are going until you understand where you came from.  Today is the first day of the rest of your health.

 

  One thought on “The Average You

  1. November 1, 2012 at 5:55 pm

    Thanks Corey. Now I know I’m not average, and we know that is a good thing. (One pull-up? Maybe I could do it.)

    Like

  2. November 2, 2012 at 12:14 am

    I totally think you can do it! I’m all for not being average 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

