Life; It’s a Survival Game — Interview with Jake Zweig

Everyone has a certain component of their life in which they feel they are the toughest. For some it’s physical, others emotional and/or psychological. Now imagine a world where toughness is everything you are and everything you do. 

Meet Jake Zweig. Former US Navy Seal, current college football coach, current star of Discovery Channel’s “Dude, You’re Screwed” and all around bad-ass and great guy. Everything and anything Jake does involves incredible holistic toughness.

This morning I had the opportunity to interview Jake about a variety of things but most importantly about the role living and promoting a healthy lifestyle had on his previous work life and has with his current role in “Dude, You’re Screwed.” Here is what Jake had to say…

Jake Zweig

Corey: Growing up, what were some of your favorite things to do to stay active?

Jake: We played in the 2nd Ranger Battalion south of the Ft Lewis training area.  I spent a ton of time in a row boat in the Puget Sound or riding my bike all around the area and fort.  

My Playground

 

Corey:  For those that have a hard time finding motivation to keep active and live a healthier life, what would you say to try to inspire them and get their butt in gear?

Jake: I was inspired by losing. When I started losing in sports I went into high gear working out because all I wanted to do was win. 

 

Corey: “Dude, You’re Screwed” has become a huge success (congrats by the way!), what would you say has been the biggest thing you’ve learned during the experience? How about your biggest “ah ha” moment?

Jake: I have learned a metric ton from the guys. As a football coach I don’t get to practice my survival skills everyday so there was a good deal of rust.  I had to start training walking long distances because what you see on TV — it is the real deal!!!

 

Navy SealCorey: As a Navy Seal and a trained survivalist there is an incredible high level of mental fitness that is needed to be successful in these roles. In addition to being physically fit, what do you do to maintain and continue to sharpen your mental fitness?

Jake: Mental fitness and physical condition are locked hand-in-hand. As said by the great Vince Lombardi, “Fatigue makes cowards of us all.” I had to get myself into gear because I do not like losing and it’s easy to think that you are in shape but lying to yourself is the biggest mistake you can make. The next aspect of it all is preparation. I want to be 400% prepared for what I’m going into whether that is practice for a football game or being prepared when kidnapped in “Dude, You’re Screwed.” Preparation is a huge key to success. 

 

Corey:  If you didn’t go into the Navy what else would you have done?

Jake:  I would have gone to the US military academy at West Point, then onto Army Ranger – Green Beret.  I loved the military so that is where I was going to land no matter what happened. 

 

Corey: What is your favorite workout?

Jake: Swimming … but I almost had my shoulders replaced last summer. Luckily I was able to get some cutting edge treatment on them and they are still there. I am greatly limited to exercise at this point…. I love swimming…. but it’s a 3 mile run out and a walk back all in a 120 minute workout.

 

Corey: What is your favorite pump-up song?

Jake: Ice cube “It’s Friday” or Deep Purple’s “Smoke on the Water.”


Corey: Obviously you are a very tough guy mentally and physically, however everyone has their own kryptonite. What do you fear and/or scares you in this world?

Jake: Dumb people. Americans always feel that our way is the best and also the only way, but often we are wrong. I feel like the US is headed towards a massive collapse. We are closer to a http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/One_Second_After situation than anyone knows …. so you have to be prepared.

 

Corey: What role does nutrition and/or healthy eating play into your life?

Jake:  I eat well about 50% of the time…. I just had a parasitic cleanse where I did not eat for 72 hours and have never felt better. Now I’m building up my gut bacteria back to the levels I need. 

 

Corey: Beer, Wine, Liquor, or none of the above guy?

Jake: Never have, never will. No alcohol and no smoking. I’m not good enough to function at 75% and still win.

 

My take home from a guy who has experienced some of the tensest, most mentally tough and taxing situations and experiences in life is this:

Life is a game of survival. In order to be successful in life or any facet of life it boils down to how well you prepare for and approach life’s challenges. Every situation you will face in life will most certainly be different. However, the level of intensity and focus you bring to these situations through preparation should never have to change. Living a healthy and active life is the key to being on top of your game and ready to go regardless if it is time to fight or to take flight.

If you haven’t already, you MUST check out “Dude, You’re Screwed” on the Discovery Channel for the ultimate adventure and survival experience of a lifetime. Season 2 airs on Wednesday night at 9 PM EST. Jake’s episode is the season started and from what I’ve heard, you don’t want to miss it! In the meantime, you can catch up On Demand, Hulu, or any other streaming platform to catch up on previous episodes with Jake, John Hudson, Terry, and Matt. 

 Sneak Peek Season 2

For more information about Jake feel free to check out:

 

Website: about.me/jakezweig

Twitter: @JakeZweig

TV: Dude, You’re Screwed

 

Create a Healthy Day!

-CMS

 

Linked In: http://www.linkedin.com/in/coreymatthew

Website: http://www.CoreyMSchwartz.com

Twitter: @TheCoreyMatthew

 

Leave a Reply

